A true gastronomic experience!

This week, we were lucky enough to go to an amazing gastronomic restaurant in Lyon for my boyfriend’s birthday. It’s called ‘Le Neuvieme Art’ in the 6th arrondissement in Lyon and has only recently opened in June this year. The chef Christophe Roure has 2 Michelin stars from his previous restaurant in the Loire, Rhone-Alpes and ‘Le Neuvieme Art’ re-creates his artistic approach.

Everything about this place was exceptional; the service, the ambiance and of course the food. We had the €80 tasting menu, which was absolutely worth every penny (or centime).

Foie gras de canard

Foie gras de canard

Alongside some delicious ‘amuse bouches’ and aperitifs, for starters I had lobsters and squid with three different types of tomato with watermelon. John had foie gras and was advised to first eat a bit of pepper, then the foie gras with some glazed bread and then a vanilla flan to cleanse the pallet.

The main was an oriental style lamb, cooked to perfection, with lamb koftes and cous cous. John had a really subtle John Dory fish dish with haddock sauce. Sorry I forgot to take any photos – I was enjoying myself too much!

Cheeeese!

Cheeeese!

The selection of cheeses were immense, with a specific waiter explaining where the different cheeses came from and giving us recommendations. We were told in France they eat cheese by itself, so we did the same. I must say, I prefer the English way with chutneys and bread as I find it less intense, but I didn’t want to show myself up!

Promenade en sous-bois

Promenade en sous-bois

 

 

 

For dessert, I had what was called ‘A promenade in the forest’, which was made up of blueberries, goats cheese, sorbets and fruits and it was presented beautifully. We finished up with a selection of handmade chocolates with our coffee with a candle for John’s birthday – I love the subtelty!

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough for a special occasion – we loved every minute of it. We were even able to meet Christophe Roure himself and have a tour of the kitchen!

Here’s the Neuvieme Art website for more details

A bientôt!

Sarah x

Leave a comment